Melissa ‘Missi’ Germano, 2008-2011

I remember Open Day in 2007 when I first saw Whitley. I was greeted with smiling faces and a free donut. I didn’t know at the time that a donut would lead to four of the best years of my life.

Whitley was the place that I felt comfortable and safe to be truly myself. The people I met along the way, both students and staff alike, have shaped me into who I am and have loved me for who I am. I have made some amazing friends and have many memories I will treasure.  CRDs, WARTS, Whitley Balls, dinner rolls and Café nights are some of my favourite things and still bring a smile to my face after all these years.

Whitley helped me become a leader and the skills I learnt over the years especially as a Senior Student and an RA, have been invaluable to me as a working professional.  I can’t thank Whitley enough for the opportunities it gave me for my both personal and academic growth.

It is hard to believe that I will have to say goodbye to the donut but I will always be a Whitlean.

What surprised you most about Whitley?

On day one I was told that my room was West Wing and not the donut. I was devastated. My mum made my bed and then turned to say goodbye with tears in her eyes which only led to tears in mine. In the few weeks I felt so homesick that I didn’t want to be at Whitley and I couldn’t wait until my first year was up so I could move out of college. But then I grew to enjoy it Whitley so I stayed for another year, then another and then another. Funnily enough in my final year I went full circle actually requested to return to the West Wing. I left where it all began.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

